Wednesday, January 14, 2009

The Mexican National Women's Wrestling Championship


The Comisión de Box y Lucha Libre Mexico D.F. or the “Mexican commission of Boxing and Professional Wrestling” has recognized the Mexican National Women's Wrestling Championship since 1958.
The title has been held by most of the legends of female Lucha Libre.
Due to a ban on women's wrestling in the 50s, reigns during it's early history are hard to verify.
Isabel Romero is the first listed champion back in 1958.
Irma Gonzalez defeated Isabel Romero for the title in 1959.
After that La Jarochita Rivero, Rossy Moreno, Reyna Gallegos, La Briosa, Zuleyma, La Marquesa, Neftali, La Sirenita, La Diabolica, Martha Villalobos, Tiffany and Lady Apache all held the title at some point.

On April 27th, 2007, a fourteen woman cibernetico was held to determine the finalists for a championship. Some of the Luchadoras that took part were Diosa Maya, Atenea, La Seductora, Luna Magica, La Nazi, Princesa Blanca, Medusa, India Sioux, Rosa Negra, Sahori, Diana la Cazadora and Amapola.
When the smoke cleared Marcela took the title, defeating Princesa Sujei.

No comments:

Popular Posts