Tuesday, January 20, 2009

UWA World Women's Wrestling Championship

The UWA World Women's Wrestling Championship was originally a Joshi Puroresu title, but unlike the UWA International Women's Wrestling Championship that was defended in Japan, the UWA World Women's Championship was mainly defended in Mexico.
The first holder of the belt though was an American.
Vickie Williams defeated Irma González on December 9th, 1979 in Mexico City to become the first champion.
Then Estela Molina turned right around and took the title from Vickie Williams a few days later on December 23rd 1979 in El Toreo De Naucalpan.
The belt changed hands several times with many of the great luchadoras holding it at one time or another.
Irma González, Chabela Romero, Lola Gonzalez, Pantera Surena, Jaguar Yokota and Shinobu Kandori all held the belt at one time or another until the title was declared vacant when 1987 Shinobu Kandori left the promotion.
A match was held for the championship in Tokyo, with Lola Gonzalez taking the title for the fourth time after defeating Harley Saito on October 10th, 1987.
Lola held the belt for almost four years till Zuleyma won the title on February 23rd, 1991 at Pista Arena Revolucion.
Zuleyma defended the belt against almost every top luchadora in Lucha Libre till she was defeated by her sister Miss Janeth, on September 7th, 2001 in Nuevo Leon.
Miss Janeth lost the belt to Ayako Hamada, but won it back, and is listed as the UWA World Women's Wrestling Champion today.

No comments:

Popular Posts