Friday, March 6, 2009

The IWA Women's Wrestling Championship

The current IWA Champion, Amazona

International Wrestling Association (IWA) is the other big lucha libre promotion in Puerto Rico.
It was actually started in Japan in 1994 by promoter Victor Quiñones.
The company has had ties in the past with the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) and World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE).
This IWA should not be confused with the IWA started by Eddie Einhorn in the mid 1970s.

The IWA Women's World Wrestling Championship seems to be a very short lived title.
I don't know if records weren't kept, or they just didn't have a women's belt before 2007.
But according to the IWA website, there have only been three champions.

The first was Amazona, then the current WWC Women's Champion Sweet Nancy, then Genesis, and finally Amazona again on November 15th, 2008.

No comments:

Popular Posts